RPGaDay August 20

Most challenging but rewarding system you have learned?

I’ve had systems which challenged me in different ways. When I was ten-years-old and just diving in to this crazy hobby, “getting” Basic D&D was a bit of a challenge. I didn’t understand hit points for the first few sessions I played, and therefore didn’t realize why my characters were dying. Don’t even get me started on THAC0! When I finally understood how the game worked, that was also when I felt ready to be a Dungeon Master.

For the first several years of my gaming life I only played D&D, and I thought all RPGs were like that. So when I looked at stuff like GURPS or Call of Cthulhu for the first time, I was blown away. That became another learning curve, and expanded my “gamer mind”.

Most recently I’ve been challenged by pure storytelling games. Having played games where the rewards come from the story for so long, it is a big shift getting used to games where the story is the reward. But I’m enjoying the perspective change, and the ideas it gives me for integrating more immediate rewards for story into my current campaigns. I’m still not fully comfortable out there in pure story territory, I’m always going to want some crunch.

What’s you’re most rewarding system? Let me know in the comments.

