Extra Life (Support Team Knifeshoes!)

You get a bonus post this week because I am doing a thing!

1104I’ve long been a supporter of the Stollery Children’s Hospital here in Edmonton. They do amazing things for sick children, and they do these things regardless of the family’s ability to pay. Basically, they are Batman and Elminster and a doctor rolled into one.

Last year my buddy Devin got together with a group of my friends and put together Team Knifeshoes (hockey reference and inside joke) to take part in the Extra Life fundraiser for the Children’s Miracle Network. I couldn’t join last year which made me a sad bear. But this year I am a full-fledged member of Team Knifeshoes, ready to do my part to help out the Stollery!

And what is my part? First, I collect pledges from the fine folks around me, which is where you guys come in. The graphic in the top right is a link to my Extra Life donation page, where you can donate any amount to this wonderful cause. Seriously, even if you can spare $5 that bumps us closer to our goal. Plus, you can donate a smaller amount monthly if that is your thing, so your donation will keep giving throughout the year. And if you aren’t able to donate, hey, that’s okay. Please signal boost my efforts by sharing this post with as many people as you can and help spread the word. I want to rock my first year on the Team!

For my part, on November 2, 2013 I’ll be gaming for 25 hours straight! That’s right, 25, because this year the challenge falls on Daylight Savings and we aren’t going to waste that extra hour. I’ll be playing a lot of World of Tanks (if you play on the NA server, I’m Argentbear; stop by and say hello before I frag your armoured ass) as well as a bunch of other games with the rest of Team Knifeshoes. I’ll make sure to Tweet and blog my progress so you can be assured you are getting your donation’s worth out of me.

I’ll pop reminders into posts between now and November 2nd, but I wanted to get the ball rolling because I’m excited to be a part of Extra Life this year. If gaming for 25 hours to raise money for a children’s hospital seems like a good idea to you, hit up Extra Life and sign up. Heck, get some friends together and set up a team. It won’t be as cool as Team Knifeshoes, but hey, it’ll still be cool.

And we’ll see you on the playing field!

