Edge of the Nest

I took the bus to Gen Con this year. That choice was motivated largely by a lack of funds, but also by a desire to have a bit of isolation. My trip was three days there and three-and-a-half days back, which gave me plenty of time for reading and reflection. Okay, and a not insignificant amount of napping. But I don’t think I have to tell you how awesome napping can be, so I’ll focus on the first two things.

During my trip back I read two books in particular that fed into my reflection: Just a Geek, by Wil Wheaton, and The Nerdist Way, by Chris Hardwick. I can’t recommend these books enough. Both are inspiring enough on their own; together, they’re like a motivational haiduken. If you read them back-to-back like I did, expect a tectonic shift in your brainhole.

Taking what I’ve grokked from these two books, plus some strategies offered by Johnn Four’s Gamer Lifestyle, I’m entering the world of content production. While I am largely still in the pupal stage of game writing, you can expect to see content available for download here in the next 3-4 weeks. The first taste will be free, as they say; I’ll offer up some useful samples of the kind of products I’ll be writing that you can snag on this site (or another site, we’ll talk about that next). If you like what you read I hope you’ll then check out the content up for sale on my site and Drive Thru RPG.

As part of that, this site might be going away, at least in name. I’ll shift the content over to the new site at the very least, so everything I’ve posted here on RG will still exist in the aether. But if my content production approaches the levels I’d like, I’ll really only have time for one blog, and so I’ll have to go with the one promoting my product. But don’t worry, the new site won’t be pimping my material constantly. In fact you’ll see a lot of what I wrote on RG, with, yes, the occasional mention when I publish something new.

I honestly have no idea how far I’ll take this, but I’m going to push myself out of the nest and see if I fly. I hope you’ll stick around and watch me flap my wings. Sink or soar, it should be fun to watch.

