Geek Fit: When You Just Don’t Wanna

I can tell you with complete honesty that, as much as I look forward to the day I am back to being sleek and fit, some days I just do not want to work out.  I’m sure you’re familiar with the litany of excuses: I’m too tired, I’m too busy, I don’t think this is getting me anywhere, what if I skip it today and do twice as much tomorrow…and so on.  It happens to all of us at one point or another on the road to Geek Fitness.  Heck it’s happening to me right now as I write this.

So what can you do, when you reeeeeally don’t want to work out?  I do one of three things:

Suck it Up! – I don’t want to work out?  Boo hoo, cry me a river fat boy.  Not wanting to work out and get fit means I do want to die of obesity related complications.  It means I do want be uncomfortable when I go to restaurants and movie theatres and sit in chairs too narrow for my broad ass.  It means I want to pay more from a speciality store for clothing other people can buy from a department store.  It means I want to doubt myself.  It means I…what’s that?  I don’t want all those things?  Then I had best pick up the free weights and get to work.  Because despite what late night infommercials promise, only exercise and eating right will get me what I do want.

Change it Up! – Okay, maybe the same old work outs just aren’t doing it for me.  Maybe the problem isn’t that I don’t want to work out, I just don’t want to do that work out.  Easy fix; the internet has a plethora of sites that will help me find new work out plans.  As a matter of fact I keep two in my bookmarks: Men’s Health Magazine and, for a geekier touch, Nerd Fitness.  Both sites are packed with tips and work out suggestions, and if I can’t find what I’m looking for between the two of them…then I’m just making excuses and I should refer myself back to point one.

Give it Up! – Sometimes I just need to admit that it’s a matter of can’t, not won’t.  I have the flu, a migraine or I threw out my back shovelling the walk.  The point is, my body is a little stressed trying to get over it and I need to acknowledge that and let it do its thing.  So I’m not going to work out…well, not a full work out, anyway.  I’m going to pick one exercise, bicep curls or dead lifts, say, and I’m going to do my full normal sets of that exercise.  That way I haven’t really skipped a work out, and my body gets a little boost of blood flow which can only help the healing.  And then I’m going to curl up on the couch with my blanket and watch my Stargate SG-1 DVDs.  Because I’m sick, dammit.

Obviously, I’m speaking from the point of view of my work outs which are based around muscle building.  But the point still remains if yours are built around cardio.  What’s important here is that you’re honest about what is keeping you from your workout.  Just don’t wanna? See point one.  Bored, point two.  And if you lying in bed with a fever and a throat that feels like it lost a fight with a belt sander…you get the picture.

One last point.  Say you do skip a work out, just because.  Don’t beat yourself up over it.  It happens; it has certainly happened with me.  What’s important is that you admit to yourself that you chose to skip it, and re-affirm that you won’t skip the next one.  Guilt doesn’t get you fit, so don’t wast time on it.  Keep working at it because in the end, you’re worth it.

Anything that gets you especially motivated when you just don’t want to work out?  Share it in the comments.

