What I’m Doing at Pure Spec

Yesterday I told you all about the wonders of Edmonton’s premiere geek even, Pure Speculation.  I’ve been busy prepping for the weekend, so I’ll keep today’s post short.  But I wanted to let you know two things I was up to at the festival:

Dungeons and Dickens: How to Steampunk your RPG – What happens when a Game Master mixes two of his favorite writers into one gaming world, and those writers are J.R.R. Tolkien and Jules Verne? Come find out how to apply the brass goggles, airships, and clockwork automatons to your roleplaying campaign through a discussion of online resources, a brief review of some of the steampunk RPGs, and a look at the best miniatures for steampunk campaigns.

I’ll be talking about two campaigns, one Eberron the other Call of Cthulhu, that I steampunked in different ways.  even if steampunk isn’t totally your bag, this is a great panel for any GM looking for tips on how to switch things up in your campaign world.  The panel runs Saturday at 1:15pm in the Omega Room.

Pathfinder Society Organized Play – No surprise, really; I’m GMing some PFS at Pure Spec.  There is a morning session starting at 11am, but the two I’m GMing run Saturday from 4pm until 9pm, and Sunday from Noon until 5pm.  If you have wanted to give Pathfinder a try this is the perfect opportunity; we are running introductory scenarios and we’ll have pre-generated characters, PFS memberships cards and dice.  All you have to do is show up on time and play!  And I promise, no one has ever left a table I’m GMing without having fun…

Besides those two things I’ll be wandering around, checking out the merchants and displays and taking in some panels.  If you see me, please don’t be afraid to stop me and say hi; the secret word is “goblinoid”… 😉

See you at Pure Spec!

