Some Nerd Subjects in Brief

There have been several things of note going on in the nerdverse recently.  While I didn’t want to devote an entire post to these, I felt they deserved a bit more than a sentence in the Humpday Links.  So enjoy these, and fire off your comments; I’ll be around and we can talk back and forth about them.

Headline: New independent climate study confirms global warming is real – Penned by Phil Plait of Bad Astronomy fame, this article is a frank summary of a recent independent study on global warming.  In short, yes, global warming is real and yes, it is our fault.  I am constantly confused by people that deny this very simple and observable fact.  Perhaps it comes from living in Alberta, arguably the province that is an ongoing severe environmental impact.  Yes, yes, I’ve seen the commercials, the oil and gas industry is cleaning up their act.  But that is sort of like a company claiming the sludge they are dumping is “Now 40% less toxic!”; “cleaner” is not “clean”.

But this article makes a very good point about global warming debunkers: the hard-core debunkers will not be swayed.  To quote the article:

I know this new study won’t sway climate change deniers. It can’t, because nothing can. The reason for that is simple: This isn’t about the science. If it were, the conversation would have been over years ago. Instead, it goes on, because it’s about ideology, not facts.

Personally, I am offended by ideology getting in the way of doing what is necessary.  Refusing to do something about the sorry state of our environment because of ideology is like a fireman refusing to enter a burning Conservative building because he/she is a Liberal.  It doesn’t get much simpler than this: this is our home.  We don’t have another one, and currently, we don’t have anywhere else to go.  Even if you think that global warming is a crap idea, wouldn’t it make sense to err on the side of caution?  Maybe keep the fresh water flowing, make sure we have enough food, try not to poison the animals living with us (not to mention us animals)?  Species survival is not ideological.

Headline: A PSA for Shy People – Thanks to Jessica Mills of Awkward Embraces fame for this PSA, it raises a good point regarding geeks with social anxiety.  Her points are especially important to remember if you are meeting someone in person that you have previously only met online.  It can sometimes be confusing, especially since most people with social anxiety will not mention it.  So you can go from a lively, friendly exchange over the Twitter and email, to a terse and awkward in-person conversation.  So keep social anxiety in mind the next time you are meeting your online friends IRL.

Something I wanted to touch on as well; the person in your group who is brash and loud may also have social anxiety disorder.  Mine tends to manifest this way.  Somewhere in my brain it occurs to me that, if I can keep everyone laughing with/at me, then obviously everyone loves me and I have nothing to fear.  Never mind that the rest of my brain is often, “Why did you say that!? Are you $%&@ing out of your @%$&ing mind!?”.  Now, I rein that in a lot, especially compared to years past.  But keep that in mind the next time you are at a party: the loud jackass and the aloof snob may have something in common.

Headline: Joss Whedon’s Much Ado About Nothing – This has blown up all across geekdom since Sunday, but yes, Mr. Whedon and a few friends banged out a movie version of Much Ado About Nothing, and managed to keep that hidden from the world.  I can’t even begin to tell you how happy I am to live in a time-line where I have this to look forward to.  I mean, seriously?  Arguably one of the best directors around, armed with some of the best writing mankind has been able to produce, and supported by an immensely talented cast (no, really, read the press release, it’s crazy)…how is this not going to be amazing?

I think what I love about this the most, is that he just did it.  No fanfare, no asking questions.  He wanted to do it, he had people that trusted in him to help him, and he went for it.  There really needs to be more of this going on in the film industry, in my not entirely humble opinion.  Yes, movie studios want to research and study things to death before committing hundreds of millions of dollars to their next blockbuster, and I can’t blame them.  But not everything has to be safe.  Create a part of your company that has the resources to say, “We believe in this, we have a great script, we can get good actors and we can put this out right now.”  For the cost of one blockbuster which may not do well (I’m looking at you, Immortals), how many of these projects would get out the door?  Ten? Twenty? A hundred?  And if only a fraction of them have monetary success (while a fraction flop and the majority break even), you come out further ahead than you would with your, “probably won’t break even except on paper” blockbuster (yup, still looking at you, Immortals).  Is that a bit optimistic?  Sure.  Am I wrong?  Well, we won’t know unless someone has the brass ones to try it, will we?

Okay, I’m done sounding off.  If you have an opinion to share on any of these, please comment below.  Until next time, my lovely nerds!

One thought on “Some Nerd Subjects in Brief

  1. Living in a very conservative bubble within the conservative bubble that is Alberta, I still encounter many who believe that the concept of global warming is a conspiracy by the liberal left to try to stop a free market from working to full potential. I just mentally tear my hair out and try to breath through the conversations that I’ve been forced into about this subject. I’m not changing their mind, they are certainly not changing mine, so a stale mate it will be.
    As for social anxiety, I am happily married to a man who has a very hard time interacting in public. He says he’s grateful I talk so much because the pressure is off him. Funny though, I sweat through most interactions, waiting for that moment I inevitably put my foot in my mouth, then return home to revisit every stupid thing I may have said or done. I think there’s levels to this problem, and I am glad my doesn’t stop me from enjoying the company of others completely.
    I don’t even have a clear comment yet on the Whedon/Shakespeare match made in the heavens. It is the stuff of dreams.

Comments are closed.